How many times have you mistakenly sent nudes to the wrong person on WhatsApp only to be hit by that sudden, terrifying thought – ‘Aye mi Temi Bami!’
Well at last there’s a solution!
After months of development, WhatsApp has started rolling out the “Delete for Everyone” feature, which allows you to recall messages after you’ve sent them.
This applies to text messages, gifs, video, pictures… pretty much anything you can send on WhatsApp. Impressive right?
But there's a plot twist... Deletion must be done WITHIN SEVEN MINUTES of sending the message.
As long as you catch it within seven minutes, you won’t have to make this face
WhatsApp says the feature will be useful if your message ‘contains a mistake’, but we all know the new feature will really have three functions:
The downside however is that the people you are messaging can still see the message before you delete it
Even if you manage to recall a message before the other person returns to their phone, they will still be able to see ‘This message was deleted’.
But WhatsApp has promised to let you know if the recall wasn’t successful, just so you know if you need to start doing damage control.